Home > Applying Political Science > Upcoming June Primary

Upcoming June Primary

The June primary is a little more than a month away now, and the campaigns are really starting to heat up throughout California. Because we have permanent vote by mail (PVBM) in California, effective campaign organizations have to run two-track campaigns: One for mail voters, who will get their ballots at the beginning of next week, and one for polling-place voters.

The adoption of Prop. 14 has changed the primary experience for me. I am registered as a nonpartisan Decline to State voter.1 In the past, this meant that I was generally ignored by the campaigns since I was barred from voting in the party primaries. Now, I can vote for whomever I want regardless of party affiliation. As such, campaigns are now competing for my vote, and I get the joy of mailings and phone calls at inopportune moments. Last night, for example, while the baby was demanding attention, I received one push-poll and one mobilization call. Since I am a PVBM voter, I can expect this to continue for a couple more weeks but then stop well before the actual election.

In other news, the congressional contest in our district (CA-9) has boiled down to essentially just two candidates (and yes, I know there are more than these two). Ricky Gill (R) and Jerry McNerney (D) will likely be the two people facing off in the November general election.

McNerney continues to show weakness as an incumbent candidate. To date, according to opensecrets.org, Gill has outraised McNerney. Gill has raised $1.2 million compared to McNerney’s $1.1 million. Gill also has more cash on hand, despite airing commercials on cable television and flooding the area with lawn signs. The district does lean Democratic, which will help McNerney come November, but it is relatively competitive for a California district. As such, expect to see a lot of party money and Super PAC money flowing into the district.

[1] I am a partisan, but I try to keep my partisanship out of the classroom as much as possible. Registering this way keeps my students who work for campaigns from having easy access to my partisanship.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

