Home > Honors, Students > Senior Award Winners

Senior Award Winners

The Political Science department faculty have selected the winners of the prizes for best senior paper and best senior research presentation.

Meagan Hamby is the winner of the 2008 Gerald Hewitt Prize for Outstanding Senior Paper for her paper on the reliability of testimony given by developmentally disabled witnesses. Professor Hewitt was one of the outstanding intellects ever to serve on the political science department faculty and Meagan is a worthy recipient of the prize given in his honor.

Dana Simas is the recipient of the 2008 Cortlandt Smith Prize for Outstanding Senior Research Presentation for the presentation of her research on cold-ironing policy. Professor Smith was an inspiring teacher who was renowned for the quality of his classroom and public presentations. Dana’s presentation was clear and enthusiastic and very much in the spirit of Cort Smith.

Meagan is also the department’s 2008 outstanding graduate.  Not only was Meagan an outstanding student, earning the highest GPA among our graduates, she was a true leader.  She served as president of our Pi Sigma Alpha, taking our chapter to new heights.

Congratulations to Meagan and Dana.

Categories: Honors, Students
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: